Brunch at Back Forty

So I’m sitting (drinking) at my local watering hole (7B) a few Sundays ago, minding my own business & a friend asks me if I wanted to go to brunch.  I said no, because I was more interested in getting hammered, but then he uttered 3 magical words; Pork Jowl Nuggets.  Needless to say, moments later 4 of us were running down Avenue B towards Back Forty (190 Avenue B @ 12th Street).

It was a really nice day outside & the place was packed, but we didn’t have to wait that long for a window-side table right by the front door.  Our server was perhaps the most enthusiastic waiter that I’ve ever encountered.  You could tell that he just loved food & really believed in what they were serving there…  Obviously we started with drinks (I double-fisted) while we looked through the rather brief menu.  Just classics here & I could have ordered & been happy with any of the items.  The Jowl Nuggets had to be ordered, so we did:

Amazing, really damn amazing!  I had expected some McJowl sized nugget, but these were small, tender, moist & flavorful, that must have been one happy pig!  It was served with a spicy & tangy sauce.  We also ordered the Sweet Potato Pancakes with Sour Cream & Chives.  Those were really good, but my mind was still reeling from the nuggets.

Chicken & Waffles (up yours Roscoe’s!)

Sausage, Egg & Grits

Ham & Eggs

I got the House Smoked Trout with Sweet Potato Pancakes (again) & a salad.  I cannot put into words how good this dish was.  Smokey, brilliance!

By now the brunch service had ended & we were the only customers left.  In a further show of ‘awesomeness’, the staff let us stick around at the the bar while they prepared for dinner (Bourbon selection = Amazing!).  Needless to say, I really enjoyed my meal at Back Forty & I recommend that you try it out for yourself!


Back Forty on Urbanspoon
Back Forty in New York

2 Responses

  1. […] Posted on September 1, 2010 by EV Eats I reviewed the brunch at Back Forty (190 Avenue B @ 12th Street) back in March, so I decided that it was time for me to […]

  2. […] of bacon served there; Face (jowl), Shoulder & Belly.  If you’ve read my reviews of Back Forty, you’ll know that I love Pork Jowl, so I opted for the Face Bacon Benedict ($12) with […]

Leave a Reply

