• Twitter Updates

  • Foodie Blogroll
  • Blog Stats

    • 13,385 hits
  • Quantcast

Pio Pio

I love chicken as much (if not more) than the next guy so I jumped at the chance for a free (belated birthday) meal at Pio Pio (210 East 34th Street between 2nd & 3rd).  Pio Pio is a chain of Peruvian restaurants that do one thing; pollos a la brasa (rotisserie chicken) & boy do they do it well!  I’ve had delivery from them before, but DJ informed me that the dine in experience would be far superior.

First off, I was surprised by how small the space was; I had imagined some cavernous monstrosity filled to the brim with rotisseries, but instead I found a small (slightly tight quarters) restaurant.  We started off with a pitcher of Sangria (obviously…) & dove right in & ordered the Matador Combo ($32).  This is basically a sampling of  everything they have to offer; a full roasted chicken, rice & beans, tostones, salchipapa & an avocado salad.  Perfect for 3 to share!

The rice & beans were unremarkable, the tostones were a little on the dry side, I kinda dug the salchipapa (fries with sliced, pan fried beef hot dogs or sausage).  I wish there was more of the avocado though as I’m a huge fan, still it came with salad & tomatoes as well.  As you can imagine, the main attraction here was the chicken!  I’m not normally a ‘breast guy’ (not with chicken anyway), but this was so moist that I resisted the urge to nab a thigh.

DJ was right when he said that eating there was totally different from delivery.  Fresh & steaming off of the rotisserie, this is some of the best chicken I’ve ever had.  Moist, flavorful & spiced just right.  Let’s just say that we devoured the chicken…

In summation, I really enjoyed my meal at Pio Pio; the service was good (even though the place started to get pretty packed by the time we were finishing up), the sangria is pretty damn good & for $32 you’re gonna get some of the best Peruvian chicken in the city.  Don’t be put off by the fact that the name of the place sounds like a laser sound effect for Star Wars, run, don’t walk, to Pio Pio!
Pio Pio on Urbanspoon

One Response

  1. This is one of our favorite places, and we were just there too! Glad you enjoyed it. The fried yuca is more reliable.

Leave a comment